Some people claim that 24 hours is not enough for them to finish all their tasks for the day. Indeed, most of us are running after time trying to befriend it. Time is very vital for us. Time management is said to be the most important element of professionalism which includes balancing and managing both professional and personal life well. Ironically, time management is also the biggest problems of graphic designers. Freelance designers have various projects that come just anytime, so you need to be good at time management. Since you are working on your own, you have to handle everything on your own. This is vital in order to finish all your projects before your client’s deadline. Every task requires a lot of time especially that you have to work on it always with the best of your ability.
This blog covers design and technology in the broadest sense possible. It's the place I collect designers thoughts, work and findings to share with the public.
Reasons Why you Can Keep Both your Day Job and Freelancing
Some people choose to work for multiple types of job and they have mastered the art of multi-tasking. They could be working for a day job and also do freelance at the same time. If you come to think of it, it is quite hard, isn’t it? But for some, it is already their way of living and losing the other makes them feel incomplete. There are actually advantages that one can get from keeping both jobs. We will take a look these advantages today.
Benefits Freelancers Can Get from Having Self-Confidence
When you are into business or you are occupied working, you need self-confidence since you will harvest many advantages if you are confident. Self-confidence is an important thing for everyone. It is related to one’s self-assuredness in his own decisions and actions. When a person is confident, he believes in his self and also ends up giving value to himself which can also lead to self-care. But being confident isn’t merely about one’s self but it can also affect those people that surrounds a confident person.
Independently place video and audio in Adobe Premiere Pro CS5
To drag the video and audio portions of a clip to specific tracks, drag the clip from the Source Monitor or Project panel into the Timeline. When the video portion of the clip lies above the desired video track, press-and-hold Shift, then drag downward past the bar separating video and audio tracks. When the audio portion of the clip lies above the desired audio track, release the mouse, and release Shift.
Give OpenGL rendering more memory to work - Adobe After Effects CS5
Increase the texture memory used for OpenGL rendering to 80% of the installed video RAM (VRAM) on your video card. The default of 200 MB is quite small for modern video cards; values in the 400-800 MB range are appropriate for modern cards with 512-1GB of VRAM. Choose After Effects (PC: Edit)>Preferences>Previews, click OpenGL Information, and enter a new value for Texture Memory.
Anchoring Graphics Between Paragraphs in InDesign
To add a graphic separator between paragraphs (such as ornamental
dots), anchor the graphic as the first character in the second paragraph, select it, choose Object > Anchored Object > Options, and choose the Above Line option.
In CS5.5 and later you can use the Anchored Object Control (the little blue square that appears on an object when it is selected) to anchor an object and set the options. To anchor an object, simply drag the blue square to the point in the text where you want the anchor to be located. To anchor an object and open the options dialog box at the same time, hold Option/Alt as you drag and release the blue square.
dots), anchor the graphic as the first character in the second paragraph, select it, choose Object > Anchored Object > Options, and choose the Above Line option.
In CS5.5 and later you can use the Anchored Object Control (the little blue square that appears on an object when it is selected) to anchor an object and set the options. To anchor an object, simply drag the blue square to the point in the text where you want the anchor to be located. To anchor an object and open the options dialog box at the same time, hold Option/Alt as you drag and release the blue square.
Select layers without using the Layers panel
Select layers without using the Layers panel (CS2/CS3/CS4/CS5)
Panels have their purpose, but they can also obstruct the view of your Photoshop canvas. Oftentimes, though, you don't actually need to show a panel in order to use it. You can select normal layers, for example, without ever touching the Layers panel.As you probably know, layers enable you to organize and selectively manipulate content. But, before you can edit an item in a multilayered document, you must first select its layer.
To select an item's layer:
- Select the Move tool in the Tools panel.
- Click the Auto Select Layer check box on the tool options bar.
- Click on the area you want to edit to automatically select its layer.
Alternately, you can skip the step that switches you to the Move tool, and simply [command][control]-click ([Ctrl]-right-click in Windows) on the object. Then, choose its layer from the resulting context menu.
Shortcuts for scrolling in Excel's print preview
Excel's Print Preview is helpful for checking the layout of a document before you print, but scrolling through it can be annoying. Depending on the length of the document, you may find it easier to navigate the Print Preview window using shortcut keys. You probably know that you can use the [Page Up], [Page Down], and the direction arrows to move around the current page when a document is zoomed in. However, you can also hold down the [Ctrl] key while using the direction arrows to jump to the edge of the document that corresponds to the direction arrow. Holding down [Ctrl] while using [Page Up] and [Page Down] lets you horizontally scroll in increments. When the worksheet preview is zoomed out, [Ctrl][Left Arrow] and [Ctrl][Up Arrow] cause the preview to jump to the first page of the document, while [Ctrl][Right Arrow] and [Ctrl][Down Arrow] move you to the last page.
Learning InDesign
Basic Tips for Learning InDesign
- Based-On Master Pages are a terrific time saver; learn them and save tons of time when you have to change your master pages.
- Careful set up and use of both Paragraph and Character styles saves time and creates a consistent look—especially with multiple users.
- Use the Book feature to link long documents. Break the files into logical sections or chapters; avoid building one long (and large) file.
- In most cases, place native Adobe Illustrator files rather than pasting them. This creates a link to the original file and makes for easier management and updating.
- Adjust your Color Settings and set all your Adobe programs to the same settings. If you don’t know how, ask your printer or, at very least, use the appropriate Prepress Defaults.
- Create Swatches before applying colors. This makes for easy changes to colors later on. Use the Color palette only to create tints of true spot-color swatches.
- If you are having trouble printing your files to older printers or RIPs, adjust your Transparency Flattener (Print>Advanced). Always use the High Resolution setting for high-end output devices (unless the printer supplies custom settings).
- Test a sample file with your printer for correct separations. Make sure the sample is representative of your final layout and do this BEFORE your deadline is looming.
- Turn on the Layout>Layout Adjustment option before applying new master pages, especially if you are not using Master Text Frames for flowing text.
- Learn to use your Layers for multi-language or complex documents. If using any transparency features, put your text on the top layer whenever possible.
Design a stunning typeface with just six shapes
A modular typeface is an alphabet constructed out of a limited number of shapes or modules. The design we’re making here uses just six different modules that can be transformed subtly, by rotating, flipping and so on, to create an entire alphabet.

We’ll work with the Pen tool, and make basic use of the Pathfinder and Transform commands. Using Illustrator’s Snap To Grid option I’ll also demonstrate some simple rules that will help you draw well-proportioned and attractive curves.
We’ll work with the Pen tool, and make basic use of the Pathfinder and Transform commands. Using Illustrator’s Snap To Grid option I’ll also demonstrate some simple rules that will help you draw well-proportioned and attractive curves.
Grid Place for multipage documents in InDesign
It's now possible to place pages from a multipage PDF, INDD, Illustrator file, etc. as a grid. In the Place dialog (File>Place), enable the checkboxes for Show Import Options and Create Static Captions, and then navigate to your multipage file. Choose the range of pages you want to place in the next dialog and click OK. With the loaded Place cursor, drag out an area for your grid, subdivide the area into columns and rows using the arrow keys, and then release the mouse button to place the pages.
Experimental CSS design in Dreamweaver
In Dreamweaver CS5, experimenting with CSS-based layouts is even easier. Hover over the left margin of your current rule selection in the CSS Styles panel to see the new CSS Enable/Disable feature. Click the "no" icon to disable a particular rule, and again to enable it. Aren't happy with the results? Right-click the rule and choose Enable All Disabled in Selected Rule to get everything back to where you started. Things looking great? Go ahead and Right-click the rule and choose Delete All Disabled in Selected Rule to clean up those comments in your code.
Align your layers to composition features in After Effect
To align selected layers to the center or edge of a composition, choose Composition in the Align Layers To drop-down menu in the Align panel (Window>Align), and then click the icon corresponding to the desired type of alignment
This whole creativity thing is pretty amazing
There’s something absolutely incredible about being able to sit down and type out your thoughts. To have some nearly unexplainable chemical reactions in your brain turn into the movement of a pencil, or pen, or fingers on a keyboard, and see words begin to form from seemingly nothing.
That’s magic.
Actually, it’s not magic: it’s creation, and you do it every day. Even if you’re not a writer.
Have you ever considered this idea fully before? Whenever you sit down to draw, or sing, or get up to dance, or seek to solve a problem, or when you simply converse with someone, you’re creating something very real from almost nothing. You, and everyone around you, are in a constant state of transforming microscopic chemical processes into art, and poetry, and emails, and conversations, and music, and products, and everything between.
Today, as you work or write or create – whatever it is you do today – take some time to realize exactly what it is you’re doing. That you’re taking intangible, nearly indescribable reactions between chemicals in your brain and making something you (and the world) can see or touch or hear or taste or experience.
Whether the results are big or small, the process is amazing.
That’s magic.
Actually, it’s not magic: it’s creation, and you do it every day. Even if you’re not a writer.
Have you ever considered this idea fully before? Whenever you sit down to draw, or sing, or get up to dance, or seek to solve a problem, or when you simply converse with someone, you’re creating something very real from almost nothing. You, and everyone around you, are in a constant state of transforming microscopic chemical processes into art, and poetry, and emails, and conversations, and music, and products, and everything between.
Today, as you work or write or create – whatever it is you do today – take some time to realize exactly what it is you’re doing. That you’re taking intangible, nearly indescribable reactions between chemicals in your brain and making something you (and the world) can see or touch or hear or taste or experience.
Whether the results are big or small, the process is amazing.
The Movable Magnifier in InDesign
While working on a layout...
1. Press Cmd-Spacebar to invoke the temporary Loupe tool
2. Drag to draw an area
3. While keeping the mouse button down, release CMD-Spacebar
4. Drag to slightly change the size of the drawn area
5. Press again Cmd-Spacebar and then move the mouse
The result is you can move the selection that you drew to another area while keeping the size of the drawn area!
It seems that you only need step 4 the first time you do the trick. If you want to continue to move the zooming selection area, steps 3 and 5 are enough and you can skip step 4.
1. Press Cmd-Spacebar to invoke the temporary Loupe tool
2. Drag to draw an area
3. While keeping the mouse button down, release CMD-Spacebar
4. Drag to slightly change the size of the drawn area
5. Press again Cmd-Spacebar and then move the mouse
The result is you can move the selection that you drew to another area while keeping the size of the drawn area!
It seems that you only need step 4 the first time you do the trick. If you want to continue to move the zooming selection area, steps 3 and 5 are enough and you can skip step 4.
Punch out holes in your extrusions! in Adobe Photoshop CS5 Extended
In the Repoussé dialog you can manipulate the constraint (sub-path) using any of the Internal Constraints tools to either punch it out to make a hole or add separate extrusion parameters. You can also add constraints to an existing Repoussé object by drawing a selection or path and choosing either 3D>Repoussé>Create Constraints From Selection(s) or Selected Path(s). You can also use the Add(Selection) or Add(Path) buttons in the Internal Constraints section of the Repoussé dialog.
Prevent a B&W document from separating to CMYK
If your B&W document separates to CMYK, then there must be color in there somewhere. Perhaps you're using a "rich" black (with CMYK values) or the Registration swatch instead of the Black swatch. Or maybe there are phantom (hidden) color objects.
Text layout in Adobe Fireworks CS5
Text is part of nearly every design, and for Fireworks CS5, lots of refinements have been added to the already impressive text layout features. A favorite is the new noncontiguous selection feature-after selecting some text characters in a text object using the Text tool (T), press-and-hold the Shift key and click-and-drag to select additional noncontiguous characters.
Fill and Stroke Shortcuts in InDesign CS6
D = Default (no fill, black stroke)
X = Exchange (activates fill or stroke, whichever was not selected)
Shift+X = Exchange (swaps the fill/stroke values)
/ = None (sets fill/stroke to none)
, (comma) = Applies last used color
. (period) = Applies last used gradient
Down to the wire in Adobe Flash Catalyst CS5
Flash Catalyst contains numerous wireframe drawing tools and pre-built components that you can use to create interactive wireframes. Pre-built components are fully functioning buttons, scrollbars, checkboxes, and other user interface items that let you quickly mock up the layout of your finished project. You can find these in the Wireframe Components panel.
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)